Monday, March 2, 2015

Canadian Flute Convention 2015 Competition – Open Class (Unaccompanied)

Friday, June 19, 2015 at University of St. Michael’s College in the University of Toronto
Registration Form available for download on

Registration Deadline: Tuesday, May 19, 2015

In conjunction with the upcoming Canadian Flute Convention, a competition has been created for aspiring young flutists who are ready to compete at the most senior level.

The convention competition is designed for senior level competitors and it is expected that the competitor will be studying at or has achieved the associate level or its equivalent. Own choice selection for the convention competition must be of at least associate or equivalent level, substitution pieces can be permitted with prior authorization from the competition committee. Grade 10 or lower not acceptable. Grade levels are based on current Royal Conservatory of Music Syllabus, Conservatory Canada Syllabus, Trinity Guildhall Syllabus, or ABRSM Syllabus.

Each competitor is expected to perform two unaccompanied pieces.

1. Mandatory test piece. Competitors are to choose one (1) of the following:

a) Icicle by Robert Aitken (Éditions musicales transatlantiques)
b) Fantaisie sur le nom de Bach by Jacques Hétu (Doberman-Yppan Edition)

2. An unaccompanied composition of the competitor’s choice. Please note: The unaccompanied own choice selection must be of at least associate or equivalent level.

Total performance time not to exceed 15 minutes. Performance order is up to the discretion of the competitor. Please specify the order at the beginning of your performance.

The first prize winner will be invited to perform in the closing ceremony of the Canadian Flute Convention on Sunday, June 21, 2015.

The registration fee is $70 CAD. Competitors are exempted of the convention fee on the day of the competition, Friday, June 19, 2015.

For more information, please contact us at

2015 Adjudicators

Dr. Meg Griffith (Dallas, TX)
Dr. Megan Lanz (Las Vegas, NV)
Dr. Rik Noyce  (Los Angeles, CA)
Christopher Lee (Toronto, ON)
Niall O’Riordan (London, UK)

No comments:

Post a Comment